An Exploration of Sacred Parenting and Education

Introductions: What inspires you? What challenges you?

In Uncategorized on January 14, 2012 at 8:51 pm

Hello everyone. Im Trishna, I have a 6 year old daughter called akashi, and a 5 year old boy called shivum. I’m interested to know how members of this group approach parenting and education with spirituality…. For me, the important thing is consciousness, awareness, and through this, i hope to make the right decisions moment to moment, day to day. Daily meditation helps me greatly to keep my mind peaceful and steady, especially on particularly challenging days where i’m not quite the mum that i want to be. The biggest challenge is not being able to do what I want, when I want. I want to meditate, but the kids won’t go to sleep, I want to sit quietly, the kids want to chat, I want to eat dinner warm, but end up doing something else and eating it cold! Through these challenges I learn……What inspires you? What challenges you? Please feel free to introduce yourself and we can use this beautiful space that saqib has created to share our wisdom and worries! Much Love x

  1. hello eveyone.i m a homeschooling mother of two.for me homeschooling is/can be a spiritual experience both for parents as well as kids.i m happy to share more about this

  2. Hi Trisha -Many thanks for your comment. What inspires me are my children! What challenges me are my children. Our work is to live with presence, awareness and love in everyday life with balance and maturity. Its a journey and a process in which we are aware of our need of each other and our dependance on the Universal Intelligence/Divine/Hu. I know exactly what you mean – i feel the same. I guess the challenge is to see the eating, sleeping, talking as meditation in which our hearts can be in remembrance of the Divine. And what better way with children who are such pure mirrors filled with a spirituality and wholeness we yearn to return to. We have a parent toddler group in London which meets regularly – in which we’re developing activities (story telling, cooking, language) based on the spiritual principles we aspire to live by as students of the Mevlevi (Rumi’s) tradition of spirituality. Thanks for starting this discussion off.

  3. Salam,

    I am a mother who works full time to nurture her two children under 5 at home. My challenge is I guess, similar to Trisha’s in the relentless setting aside of my self day in day out to meet the physical and spiritual needs of my children. To learn to be calm and present even as my buttons are being pushed. To be aware that my children are drinking in their mother’s gestures, words and action…

    What inspires me is that this work of a parent is the best path for me to develop myself as a human being and that this work would not be possible without seeking a closer connection to the Source. It is a humbling journey to say the least.

    Ps. Is there a way for interested parents living outside of UK to learn more about this parent toddler group in London?

    Blessings

  4. Dear Asma,

    Thank you so much for sharing and contributing. We intend to use this space to feedback on the parent and toddler group as well as explore our challenges as parents within a spiritual context. I’m 101% with you on parenting being a path for us to evolve and grow along side our children- given how much our patience gets tested along the way!
    Speaking of patience this may serve as a good reminder or offer some insight http://sufism.org/articles/embody-patience

    Something that helps me with managing time for myself is to establish routine – an early sleeping pattern for my kids has worked wonders in allowing time for my partner and myself in the evening.

    I’ll see if we can explore the theme of ‘being patient and calm when our buttons get pushed’ in the days and weeks to come. If you have any ideas, suggestions or would like something for us to explore/develop please let us know.

    Salam
    Saqib

  5. Salams all,

    This is a rich vein waiting to be mined! For me, apart from the challenges mentioned above (many a time I have prayed with a screaming child in my arms, or a boy whacking me with a book!) there is also the impulse to live authentically, in a way that is in harmony with my own deepest longings for truth; expressing that in my actions, whether or not that manifests as something ‘religious’ or ‘spiritual’, is something I am finding more and more important. Sometimes drastic changes need to be made, but ones which will have a positive impact long-term on our lives as families. Once our children grow older and reflect on the sacrifices their parents made in order to live more sincerely, more simply, with greater mindfulness of God, with greater presence of heart, I think they will see that as a model of how to live ‘spiritually’. Hopefully they will appreciate our efforts!

    Ya Hu!

    Medina

  6. Asked to comment on the seemingly never-ending responsibilities of parenting–what a great training for the ego; when faced with what is, we remember that our life is our spiritual path, everything is potentially zhikr.

    On the other hand, there is a danger of using the responsibilities of parenthood as an excuse for not practicing, for slacking off when we do have time.

    I’ve always thought it important to make a commitment to spiritual practice, including participation in a Sufi group. It’s not for us to judge anyone else’s commitment, but for us a daily practice of at least 30 minutes and a few hours a week to be with a group of people sincerely practicing the Way was doable, not missing a week over 30 years while raising 3 children.

    But in those moment when you’re holding a baby in your arms (even a screaming one) is a time of perfect remembrance. But don’t be discouraged–do your best.

Comments are closed.

