An Exploration of Sacred Parenting and Education

The Hidden Dervish from the Kingdom of Heaven

In Religion, Spirit, heart & soul on February 9, 2012 at 11:58 am

I have a secret to disclose; I live with a Dervish. (yes I’ve used a capital D because he is unique). He’s one of those hidden teachers that doesn’t advertise himself. Nobody knows about or even recognizes him. We use very little words to communicate – everything is done through intuition, witnessing, reading the signs and body language. When Rumi says “Your task is not to seek for love, but merely to seek and find all the barriers within yourself that you have built against it” so pure is his heart that in his presence, all barriers dissolve and I feel overwhelmed by love. Most of the times I can’t control myself and I end up giving him a hug. A single glance from him puts a smile on my miserable face. Most of the time we are like little kids together and end up laughing over the littlest and silliest of things. In fact, we normally find opportunities to misbehave. I don’t know how true this is, but it is said Rumi and Shams once decided to to go up on a rooftop and set off fireworks in the middle of the night – like kids having fun! We have something like that too. He normally follows me around and it seems he can’t live without me. I feel the same. Other adults think we’re crazy and should be more serious about life.   He lives totally in the moment and takes, like Jesus, no thought for the morrow: for the morrow shall take thought for the things of itself” He teaches me a lot in so many subtle and direct ways. He himself is totally crazy and doesn’t posses an ounce of rationality. At times, like Shams of Tabriz, he is ready to take something valuable of mine and throw it away as though he were playing a game with me! Some lessons he continues to teach me, through example of course, are

1. Why over think and plan too much – learn to play. Life is Intelligent.

2. Don’t give an absolute crap about what others think

3. Be happy: Smile, laugh, live life out loud today to the fullest! who has seen tomorrow?

4. Be honest, don’t lie to yourself, have the courage to express what you feel or you’ll regret it tomorrow

5. What you are outwardly be inwardly (and visa a versa) – this is tawhid.

6. Be a good friend to others. Think of them often and make time to visit them like I do to you when you’re busy working!

7. Most importantly – it’s all about Love. Let Love rule your life. “He he doesn’t possess this love, may he be naught”

The dervish is of course my little son, Owais, in his terrible twos. In one sense, I feel, he’s a spiritual adult and here to remind me about Oneness. Some traditions speak of the second coming of Christ. What if he came, in physical form, and said I sent teachers to you from the Kingdom of Heaven. They have been among you all along but you didn’t recognise them. They are the children of Life. I think he actually did hint to that already if I’m not mistaken when he said

“Verily I say unto you, Except ye be converted, and become as little children, ye shall not enter into the kingdom of heaven.”–Matt. 18:3

“Verily I say unto you, Whosoever shall not receive the kingdom of God as a little child, he shall not enter therein.”–Mark 10:15

Of the Kingdom of Heaven:

“Being asked by the Pharisees when the Kingdom of God was coming, he answered them, “The Kingdom of God is not coming with signs to be observed; nor will they say, ‘Lo, here it is!’ or ‘There!’ for behold, the Kingdom of God is in the midst of you.” (Luke 20-21)

Isn’t that interesting? The Kingdom of Heaven isn’t something we can point to and say ‘there it is’. May be, like love, its too subtle for that. I was glad to learn I’m not the only childlike adult out there when I read of Emily Dickinson’s habits and behavior. I don’t mean childish, which I can be at times too, but childlike in the spirit of curiosity, naivety, fun and soulfulness. She is one person I would love to have a cup of coffee with. For now I have my little Dervish. Better enjoy it while it lasts…

  1. Aw this made me laugh! Beautiful, may your little Dervish grow into a big Dervish and continue to teach you about Love.

Comments are closed.

