An Exploration of Sacred Parenting and Education

Care To Play?

In Marriage, Relationships on February 14, 2012 at 5:12 pm

Here are some dots. How do they join up for you?

  • “It’s Valentine’s Day and people are talking about “love” – however “love” seems to be reduced to a few over priced red roses and a cuddly toy that says, “I Love You Soooo Much”. So let’s focus here on a more profound love – the Love of God, and His Love for us. There is a hadith qudsi which reads, “And when I love My servant I become his hearing with which he hears, his eyes with which he sees, his hands with which he touches and his feet with which he walks”. It is my honour to love you all for the sake of God. May you grow in nearness to Him, and may He love you”. Sarah Joseph

  • O our Lord! Grant us from our wives and offspring the coolness of eyes and make us a leader of those who guard themselves against evil. (Al Furqan 74)
  • “Instead of the fairytale stories we grow up with where cinderella gets married to a prince and becomes a princess, most women experience the opposite. They are princesses before they get married, and scullery-maids afterwards…. Buy her flowers. Give her a valentine’s day to remember. Take her on holiday. Get her a cleaner once a week. Let her go to an evening class and feel like more than the cook, cleaner and babysitter. Treat her like your princess.”
  • “A man should treat his wife as he would want his daughter to be treated.
  • True story. Once a group of religious people went around to people in their neighborhood to talk to people about religion. They knocked on a man’s door and said “We have come to invite you to join us… “ The man said, “I’m sorry, I’m busy today cooking for my wife. I want to give her a day off from the house chores. When was the last time you did that for you wives?” There was silence.
  • The best of you are those who are kindest to their wives.” (Holy Prophet in Tirmizi)
  • At an introduction session where people had to give their names and the place they’re from, a Sufi master said on his turn “My name is Kabir, she (his wife sitting next to him) is my home”
  1. Thank you, thank you, thank you. Beautiful Blog and great video link. I especially like how he pointed out the crises of family life. Both my husband and I came from pretty rough family backgrounds and we married each other as complete strangers with the intention of creating a loving family atmosphere for the will of Allah. It meant having to work really hard to unlearn the bad habits picked up from our previous family environments. I am pleased with the atmsophere in our family we were able to create through the Mercy of Allah and I only hope that ultimately we please Allah. It just goes to show that through dua, good intentions and hard work a person can turn things around and ensure that goodness of character is passed on to the next generations. I really appreciate your blogs – they are the coolness of my eyes – May Allah reward you.

    • Dear Farah,

      Thank you for your kind words. I feel I couldn’t be rewarded for my efforts in a better way. Since you have made the journey, I would like to invite you to write a post about your story for this blog. I’m sure many readers, myself included, will find useful. Who knows Farah, it may just change somebodies household and give their children a different childhood!

      Salam
      S

Comments are closed.

