An Exploration of Sacred Parenting and Education

Revive Your Childhood

In Healing, Spirit, heart & soul on February 29, 2012 at 1:13 am

“Many people live in emotional darkness because they have never fully enjoyed a child spirit in their overly serious lives. The child wanders homeless in the lives of many adults, who are captivated by psychologies of the “inner child” and books and films of childlike fantasy, such as the stories of Harry Potter and the Disney movies. Modern society, so adult and sophisticated, so busy at work and serious about knowing everything, has lost much of its childhood. Instead of playing actively and seriously, we let other people entertain us, and instead of enjoying a strong feeling of community, we are highly dependent on our electronic connections.

You have to find your own way to your childhood. It may be something quite simple and meaningful only to you. One of my clients revived her childhood by making an old family recipe for soup. Another found it in forgiving her mother for betraying her. I mysteriously find the child stirring in me whenever I am in Italy or Ireland. In some mysterious way, the “old world” is home to my deepest childhood and allows it to come forth. Others find it in allowing themselves to be irresponsible in certain areas of their lives, such as stealing time for themselves, eating “forbidden” foods, and reading for the fun of it.”   Thomas Moore in Dark Nights of the Soul

I often find people mistake those with a child spirit for childishness. I have a friend, a year younger then me, who is full of child spirit. In many ways he is a person way ahead of his time. In other ways people may find his joyful, unassuming, creative, playful and completely honest approach to life as childish. I haven’t been in contact with him for some time because he deleted me from his facebook friends as part of his minimalist approach to life he’s experimenting with! I hope it’s just a phase…

For some days, I was reflecting on the quote above by Thomas Moore and was wondering how I can get in touch with my childhood. Some ideas came – one was to take out my old catapult I had hand made by sewing off a branch from a tree in my grandma’s garden using a hand knife a lodger had left behind and using the rubber from a snooker table. Another was to visit an old mansion that always mystified me as a child and still does today. Back then every time I would walk past it I would ring the doorbell and run. I might have tried that today for old times sake but the place is fenced off! It also occurred to me to visit a childhood friend of mine. He now runs his own computer repair shop. We spent many many days playing cricket together. I met up with him a few weeks ago couldn’t stop laughing out loud at the advice he was giving me. He ended up laughing too. There it was – my childhood spirit.

Today, I experienced it again while jogging in my local park. I grew up playing cricket in that park almost every day in summer. I spent many evenings going for walks around the park during my study breaks as a student. I spent many afternoons sitting on the parking bench reading Hafez and Rumi while feeling the Oneness around me through the green grass, flying birds, still trees and beautiful sky; they all helped bring words out of the pages into experience and taste. I was reminded of the those summer days I would play cricket from the smell of the green grass as I jogged today. Jogging in the park has become for me a vessel, a container.

  1. Love this. What you are saying is so important. A couple years ago I was talking to my dad and I told him that if I actually made it to heaven I would have a hard time enjoying myself there. I realized that there must have been something not quite right, after all, how can someone not enjoy heaven? Back then, the idea of pleasure and playfulness seemed meaningless and irrelevant. I was so used to functioning on a level where for me work and sacrifice formed my identity and gave me meaning. If there was no one to help or save in heaven, then how would create meaning for myself? Over time I realized that I had to stop trying so hard to incessantly try to prove my “goodness” and worthiness and just learn to be and sit in self-acceptance. Only then, could I allow myself to play. And so, everyday, I allow myself a time to play and have loads of fun (for me that’s African dance or jumping on the trampoline! Yay!) I think people undermine the spiritual importance of play. This is how I imagine heaven to be – a place for play, which automatically lends itself of being in a perpetual state of gratitude and praise of the One.

  2. Many thanks Farah.
    I think your insight and experience of African dance/trampoline jumping deserves a post on its own.
    Salams
    S

Comments are closed.

