An Exploration of Sacred Parenting and Education

The Power of Hu by Farah Benhalim

In Uncategorized on April 6, 2012 at 1:07 pm

As a busy mum, I do my best to plan my day sensibly, but despite all that planning I inevitably find myself in situations where I end up feeling like this:

So, I was in the supermarket the other day. I was halfway done with the shopping when my daughter Aisha was in the midsts of her millionth tantrum, and the Fatimah was bursting for the toilet, I was starving, and we had half an hour to pick up the other kids from school. And to top it all off my mother in law was in the middle of a triple by pass. I felt like I was going to go out of my mind and could visualize myself screaming in the middle of the shop. But somehow, in my moment of panic, something else came over me. I just started making the thikr of huuuuuuuuu in the middle of the supermarket and it calmed me down within a matter of seconds. Despite the storm of tantrums happening around me I was able to feel completely clear, centered and calm and was able to carry on and deal sensibly with the situation. The great thing about making the thikr of huu, is that it’s quick, easy, immediate, free, weightless, accessible, and fairly inaudible to those around you. By the end of it, my kids had calmed down too and were huuuing along with me. What I love about huu is the way it vibrates in my chest. It’s the closest thing to getting a spiritual hug. The warm low tone creates a kind of warmth and vibration and for me, is the closest thing to feeling spiritually held. I used it another time when I was rushing to a doctor’s appointment and had become flustered, jittery and worried over my daughter’s health. So, as I sat in the waiting room, I held my daughter chest to chest and felt inspired to make the thikr of huu, which again created immediate calming effects. It’s nice to know that at times when I feel completely panicked, that I can pull out my secret weapon and find my little oasis. I’ve been so pleased with the results of this practice which I’ve happened to stumble upon that I’ve started to teach my kids to do this when they feel overwhelmed. There was once when my ten year old son became upset and almost hysterical. I sat him down and we faced each other crossed legged and we began making the thikr of huu. He was skeptical, but I promised him it would work. By the end of it, we were laughing and having a bit of a competition to see who could make the longest huuus. I don’t know how, but somehow his huuuuuus were longer than mine! What really pleased me the most to hear was him saying, “You know, mama, the time we were doing it seriously, before we started competing, I felt timeless.”

  1. Thank you for sharing your secret weapon, Farah. Much to my dismay, I can get flustered quite often, especially when dinner time is looming but the toddler who is supposed to be napping would not leave me in peace. I’ve never made the zikr huu out loud before, I’m definitely going to try this out!

    Here’s sending prayers for your mother in law’s quick recovery, Ameen.

Comments are closed.

