An Exploration of Sacred Parenting and Education

Christopher Reed and the Value of Stillness

In Uncategorized on May 16, 2012 at 12:11 am

Having suffered from an accident recently has made be bed bound. Although I’m at home, I began to wonder about what impact this will have on my kids.  I knew I had to relate to them differently now. My first realisation came when my daughter came to meet me and I met her, unintentionally, with complete stillness. I wasnt the energetic father who would race his daughter on the way to school anymore. I was just there; too tiered to talk much and just wanted to listen. This was different to sitting quietly with a sort of active receptivity as you may do if you went out for a meal together for example. With my mind slowed down I had no projections of past or future. I met her unconditionally as she was in the moment. It was beautiful. I had a brief conversation with her like never before. It was like a meeting of two souls with none trapped in the mind space.

Around the same time I was also reading Nothing is Impossible by Christopher Reed. He narrated a similar experience with his children after having suffered an accident:

“Do you know Daddy” she said, “this is the first time in such a long time that we’ve had a real conversation about something?” I realised that she was right. Not that we didn’t talk, but it usually it was while doing something else. Now I gave them my full attention and soon learned to listen more then talk. That began the process of discovering that, in bringing up children and relating to others, sometimes being is more important than doing‘.

Some often identify the top five things they wished their parents did for them and then they make sure they do that with their kids. For me, personally, at the top of my list it would be to have spent more one to one time together enjoying each others company without an agenda. I feel learning to do this feeds the soul of the child and the parent! Since the rise of the industrial age we seemed to have lost that amount of contact. All the more important in the digital age where cyber space seems more real, entertaining and simulating then physical reality.

