An Exploration of Sacred Parenting and Education

The Mother by Omid Safi

In Story telling on December 7, 2012 at 3:56 pm

mother-and-child2A Sufi story on serving your mother, from the 11th century Sufi master Shaykh Abu ‘l-Hasan Kharaqani:
Once there were two brothers, who lived with their mother. Every night one brother would devote himself to serving the mother, whereas the other brother occupied himself with worshipping God.
One night the brother who worshiped God had a dream, in which he heard a voice from Beyond telling him: “We have forgiven your brother, and for his sake, have forgiven you as well.”
The brother said: “But I have occupied myself with worshipping God, whereas he has occupied himself with serving our mother. You are forgiving me for his sake?”
He heard the voice of God say:
“That which you do for me, I have no need for. But your mother needs the service your brother provides.”
Thank you to my dear mother, Pouran Safi, my wife Holly Frigon Safi, and to all the mothers and fathers who provide compassion and care for their children, and all those who serve their parents. Blessings for all the ones who in serving others, serve God.

  1. Greetings,

    Very nice story. Thank you for sharing it.

    All good wishes,

    robert

  2. Thank you for reminding me to say thank you. Your thank you is a service! I am reminded of the prayer in the Mevlevi Wird “I ask to be able to give thanks…”
    Much Love, siema

Comments are closed.

